FZ new regs

Page: < 123 > Showing page 2 of 3
Author
dadeeo66
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 17
  • Reward points: 0
RE: FZ new regs 2007/08/15 13:25:37 (permalink)
ORIGINAL: salmotrutta

ORIGINAL: dadeeo66

Would a sink tip line be considered added weight? If so, that would restrict the leader/tippet section to 4' from the end of the sink tip?

I would say no, but with a sink tip you need a short leader to control your drift/eliminate drag. Right?

I'm fairly new to the fly fishing discipline, so I'm unfamiliar with the mechanics of sink tips. A friend suggested I might use one in faster water. It appears I have quite a bit more to learn. 
Ditchrat
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 30
RE: FZ new regs 2007/08/15 21:56:54 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: Ditchrat

That was me being nice.

Here is unnice   LOL

And here's you being ****! LMAO!

Sorry Ditch, couldn't resist.

alls fair

Ditch
Ignorance is not a crime, let someone stay ignorant should be
Ditchrat
New Angler
RE: FZ new regs 2007/08/15 22:02:00 (permalink)
dadee066,

Ideally sink tips aare fished across and down.  The idea is your fly gets deep and swings below the fly line.  This allows you to use heavier then normal leaders, because the fly is present before the fish sees the leader.

2-4 ft is the normal distance for a leader.  Normally straight mono, but some times a short taper is needed.  Longer leader are used when you want the fly to come off the bottom up into the water colum. Sometimes a 1-3ft piece of floating fly line is attached to the sink tip to help bring the fly up.  This is normally used in slower or rock filled pools.

Remember if your no catching bottom your not where 90% of the fish are

Ditch
salmotrutta
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 2132
RE: FZ new regs 2007/08/16 00:33:58 (permalink)

Ditch- Those 90% on the bottom aren't usually the players are they? They are resting and have little intrest in feeding. IMO this is how many fish are lined.