new boat questions

Author
jstarr
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points: 0
2012/07/19 20:06:54 (permalink)

new boat questions

bought a 13' arkansas deep v traveler w/ 6hp johnson. Id like to use this to get out and do some perch fishing in lake erie, Im just concerned with able to handle lake erie, Im sure this can get out on a calm day not sure how well it would do if its choppy.  Yup Im a newbie to boat first one owned in my life so I am still reading up a bit . I also see on the plate max 20hp can be installed on this should i jump the gun for a bigger engine or roll with this for a bit?

6 Replies Related Threads

pghmarty
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5951
    Re:new boat questions 2012/07/20 00:19:10 (permalink)
    The first trench is 7 miles from the Walnut launch.
    Depending on where you are it might take over an hour to get off the lake and weather changes a lot faster than that.
    The mountain is 3 miles from North East launch.
    I have been out on my 20' boat and the waves have gone from under 2' to 3' and 4' in a hurry.
    Find a smaller lake or stay close to shore

post edited by pghmarty - 2012/07/20 00:26:17

Erie Mako
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 445
    Re:new boat questions 2012/07/20 07:58:04 (permalink)
    jstarr

bought a 13' arkansas deep v traveler w/ 6hp johnson. Id like to use this to get out and do some perch fishing in lake erie, Im just concerned with able to handle lake erie, Im sure this can get out on a calm day not sure how well it would do if its choppy.  Yup Im a newbie to boat first one owned in my life so I am still reading up a bit . I also see on the plate max 20hp can be installed on this should i jump the gun for a bigger engine or roll with this for a bit?

Be afraid...Be very afraid.  
    Believe it or not, there have been several occasions that we've seen Straw Hats out in the second trench in a 14 footer!

Personally, YES, I'd make the jump to 20 ponies!