How much experience

Author
jiggerman41
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 101
  • Reward points: 0
2010/06/11 19:16:44 (permalink)

How much experience

Thank you for all the answers on my flyline question.I settled for cortland.And i did make a mistake in the rod weight it is a 5-6.Now for my next question.How much experience would you recommend before you would take the fly rod steelheading.I am confident when fishing a stream for smallmouth but i would probably get intimidated with the crowds and totally forget how to cast.I see guys roll casting and i am trying to learn so hopefully i will get better,but should i try fly fishing this season or should i refine my casting ability for another year.I am a beginner with 1 month of fly lishing experience.Any advice is appreciated.Thank you.

13 Replies Related Threads

indsguiz
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 6356
    RE: How much experience 2010/06/11 19:29:29 (permalink)
    Just come up[ and fish. If you feel intimidated just move to a less crowded spot. Or. find somebody who appears to really have it together, intriduce yourself, compliment his technique and ask how he does what he does so well. You'll either get some good lessons or, , , a date!

Illegitimis Non carborundum
    pghmarty
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5951
    RE: How much experience 2010/06/11 20:56:45 (permalink)
    You will see people that bought their first flyrod on the way there and have never picked one up before.

clinchknot
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 831
    RE: How much experience 2010/06/11 21:38:35 (permalink)
    Go on up and fish. Besides, by the time steelie season rolls around, you'll be roll castin' like a pro.

I don't give a crap if anybody listens to me or not.
    rapala11
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 6218
    RE: How much experience 2010/06/11 22:04:43 (permalink)