Rookie Boater

Author
mde42k
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 18
  • Reward points: 0
2010/02/24 15:07:11 (permalink)

Rookie Boater

Hey guys im getting a boat for bass fishing this spring and im totally new to boating, just wondering wat i should expect, like what are the most difficult things to learn

9 Replies Related Threads

pghmarty
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5951
    RE: Rookie Boater 2010/02/24 15:08:46 (permalink)
    Take a boating class and read the book

woodnickle
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 8508
    RE: Rookie Boater 2010/02/24 16:34:24 (permalink)
    Practice backing up. Don,t wait till you are at the launch.
    Don,t make waves near another fisherman.Watch where you are going.
    Slow down in the dark and fog.
    Have all safety equipment.
    Stay off Shenango.lol

bulldog1
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5203
    RE: Rookie Boater 2010/02/24 17:01:39 (permalink)
    There's lots to think about while operating your boat, it's not just wind and spray in your face without a care in the world. Once you get your "feet wet" you can relax a little more. If you're planning on fishing the big pond (Erie), be VERY careful and a watchful eye on the weather. Erie is nothing to mess with even in a boat built for the waves, let alone a bass boat. One really important piece of advice I'll give is to get a sequence that you run through EVERY time you launch your boat with putting the plug in either 1st or last on that list. If you forget, you won't be the first guy to do it but it can ruin your day. Oh, and don't run 40mph on auto pilot, at night...

Welcome to the sickness
    pghmarty
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5951
    RE: Rookie Boater 2010/02/24 17:27:44 (permalink)
    Practice backing up. Don,t wait till you are at the launch.

Make people with you Practice backing up. Don,t wait till you are at the launch.

Split Shot
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 891
    RE: Rookie Boater 2010/02/24 18:11:37 (permalink)