is this setup overkill

Author
tropheybuck
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 10
  • Reward points: 0
2009/09/17 17:37:25 (permalink)

is this setup overkill

I have booked a trip for the end of month, and bought a Penn SV6000/PRS1220S80 http://www.pennfishingstore.com/penn-sv6000-prs1220s80-combo.html 
When I got this thing, it looks like overkill. I'm new to fishing salmon/steelhead, and since I'm relativley close to that area, I do plan on making this a, at least once a month trip this winter. I know it may be to much for steely this winter, in which I plan to buy a nice flyrod (8/9 lb).
Just wondering if I should invest on that flyrod now, to have something a little lighter. Or am I fine for next weekend with the Penn.
Thanks for ant response!

15 Replies Related Threads

hot tuna
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 6388
    RE: is this setup overkill 2009/09/17 19:30:36 (permalink)
    TB: their website sucks. I could find the sv6000 reel and from the specs and looks it seems like a good (don't know about the quality) reel for salmon. Way much for steelhead and something you plan on using very frequent. It's size and weight ..
    As for the rod, I could not find the S80 model (70 yes). I don't know from just looking at their site. Really to me the best way to buy any rod & reel is to be able to see,touch & hold it.

As for the fly rod:
    I would recommend fly fishing for Salmon. I used to spin fish them 20 some years ago but once I used a fly rod on them I would never go back. Not putting a spin fisher down at all but for salmon all my fishing is close and not deep making a fly rod the only choice.
    As for steelies, You can use the same fly rod & reel for steelhead as you do salmon so aside from the line it's a duel purpose rod.
    On thing to be wary :: When winter and below 32degs. sets in a fly rod becomes very tough and becomes a disadvantage over a spinng rod. (Icing and depth).