float fishing

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
ShutUpNFish
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 3834
  • Reward points: 0
RE: float fishing 2009/08/11 00:23:34 (permalink)
Its a two piece extended cork handle with sliding rings....6 to 10lb rating

jimhalupka
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 1058
RE: float fishing 2009/08/11 00:24:05 (permalink)
awesome.. yea I'll give it a whirl eventually

I believe Dru fishes with the rainshadow and I have used it... very nice blanks

"Sure, we can assiduously three-quarter our wets downstream, mend and wait out each fly swing, over and over again, which to my way of thinking, anyway, relegates the angler to the role, not of nemesis as it should be, but of butler."

-Art Lee
ShutUpNFish
Pro Angler
RE: float fishing 2009/08/11 00:29:17 (permalink)
It feels nice, but I'd like to put it to the test...I also have a St. Croix Avid 13' that I used at season's end last year...nice rod, but seems to have more backbone than the Rainshadow.  I'm fairly new to the pin fishing thing and limit the use of it due to the amount of people fishing in Erie....however, I really want to try this out on the carp/catfish around home real soon.  For the amount of time I've spent pin fishing, I'm still way more comfortable with the spinning/noodle in my hands.

Carphead
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 284
RE: float fishing 2009/08/11 00:32:30 (permalink)
Good choice Paul. I heard from guys that fish rainshadows, that the 6-10 blanks fish more like other brands 4-8. So a 4-8 rainshadow(if they make one) might be a bit too whippy. I think you made a wise choice.

I used to not be real fond of sliding rings, but a lot of my pin reels get switched around to different rods, so a comfortable position varies. I now perfer sliding rings to a fixed reel seat for pinning.
ShutUpNFish
Pro Angler
RE: float fishing 2009/08/11 00:34:41 (permalink)
So when are we going pinning for carp?

Carphead
Expert Angler
RE: float fishing 2009/08/11 00:37:26 (permalink)