Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
LittleJoe76
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 17
  • Reward points: 0
2008/10/06 12:51:47 (permalink)

Techniques for new guys

Good day Gentlemen, Im very new to fly fishing. I'm just looking for some pointers on how to actually present my fly to the trout itself...i hear things like dead drifting etc...I dont use any dry flys...I do use alot of wooly buggers and things like that..so any help with regards to Position, casting, retracting  line...etc would be more than appreciated.

thanks a bunch

34 Replies Related Threads

Cold
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 7358
    RE: Techniques for new guys 2008/10/06 13:56:10 (permalink)
    I'm new too, just started this summer, and I love wooly buggers because they're easy to fish and they really catch fish.

I usually present them in variations of two basic forms: dead drifting and swinging.

To dead drift, I cast upstream at a 45 while standing directly across from the spot I want to target.  Then I try to keep a little bit of slack in my line without getting a big loop from the current.  I let it drift to about 45 downstream then try again.  After you drift a spot 5-10 times you learn how the line should move, and any variation from that might indicate a strike, so be ready!

To swing, I position myself about 30-45 degrees upstream of my targetted area.  I cast straight across and let the line drift downstream a little bit, taking the slack out of my line.  Once the slack is gone, your fly will "swing" around to a point directly downstream of you.  I put my targetted area usually either at the very beginning or very end of that "swing" path.  Be ready for strikes just as the fly begins to swing, or just after it stops directly downstream.  I find this method very easy and productive, as the tension keeps me in contact with the fly, so I can feel as well as see a strike.