catch and release for musky tips and discussion

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
pappyolboy
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 20
  • Reward points: 0
RE: catch and release for musky tips and discussion 2011/04/01 14:08:55 (permalink)
How about those Muskie.
I agree with shut up n fish, well most of it anyway.If you want to keep a fish that's your business. For what your paying for a license these days.You might thing think you paid for it. Oh by the way I have been fishing for over 60 years. And a lot of hours went into muskie fishing. From the tailrace of Kinzua to the Tidioute bridge on the Allegheny river, Conneaut Lake through the ice, Pymatuning Lake & river.I always said the 1st 50" trophy muskie would go on my wall. The space is still empty. I've told this to my sons & grandsons, who all love to fish. 50 or back. But it's there choice.
Buy the way I saw 2 legal muskie caught this week and both went home with the fisherman. I even helped to get one in.

OLD MAN
eyesandgillz
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 4012
RE: catch and release for musky tips and discussion 2011/04/01 15:17:56 (permalink)
I'd like to see PA do with muskies what Texas does with oversized redfish. Have a trophy tag included with each and every license that you fill out, tear off and attach to the fish if you want to take it home. For muskie's sake, it can be used on any fish that meets the current length restriction. Essentially, you are one fish and done for the year so you can take home the nice one or hold out and wait for the trophy if you really want one. In addition to that, let angler's have the opportunity to purchase another musky trophy tag if they use the one that's included with their original license but you would only be allowed to purchase one extra trophy tag per year. Set the cost for the second tag at $20, $30 or whatever the PFBC deems acceptable for a musky. With the POS system, it will be easy to track the tags.