Trenches?

Author
Finster
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 184
  • Reward points: 0
2007/05/29 23:35:09 (permalink)

Trenches?

Does anyone fish the trenches? If so, when and for what? Lakers, eyes, salmon? What time of year do you head out there? It's a long way out so I'm iffy about it. Any info would help. Thanks

3 Replies Related Threads

ronnie84
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 580
    RE: Trenches? 2007/05/30 00:29:52 (permalink)
    Once the water temperature reaches a certain point, a majority of the walleye seek refuge in the deeper portion of the lake (eastern basin) and this (trenches) are where they are fished the most. Probably won't be too much longer.

I'm no expert, but this is how I've always understood it.

As far as any other time and species, I have no clue.

I've never actually fished the main lake itself but I am contemplating a charter this year for walleyes. The 16 foot 9.9 hp deep v we have probably wouldn't be wise to be taken out that far, or anywhere short of seeing shoreline for that matter.
    pghmarty
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5951
    RE: Trenches? 2007/05/30 00:49:17 (permalink)
    Anchor or drift fish the trenches for perch.
    Minnows just above the bottom using power-pro or similar line so you feel every nibble.
    Watch the reports page for when to start.

http://www.fishusa.com/FishErie/Reports.asp

Storm Warning 2
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 583
    RE: Trenches? 2007/05/30 10:14:54 (permalink)