New Spot

Author
vinestbrew
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 418
  • Reward points: 0
2008/08/25 17:47:36 (permalink)

New Spot

I live in the Pittsburgh area and was looking to try a new spot on the rivers tonight any suggestions. OH YEAh I'm looking for flatheads..

7 Replies Related Threads

Ax
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 450
    RE: New Spot 2008/08/26 12:19:40 (permalink)
    Dont know to many Flathead guys going to be real quick to respond with their spots.  Seems to me like Flat head fishing is like morel picking.  No one says a word.

Hope you find a spot.  I think I have heard guys talk about fishing near PNC Park?
    jolie
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 348
    RE: New Spot 2008/08/26 15:06:06 (permalink)
    this is all too true.

But for the complete Novice there is those well known spots.  The major locks all have trails to there tailwaters.  Putting a hand-sized or bigger bluegill and you do have a chance... you'll have a much BETTER chance at some honey-hole you discover that doesn't get obnoxious fishing pressure...

but to do that you will have to read up on them, start guessing and pay your dues.  And give up the easy access Tailwater spots where everyone fishes...

Though I don't fish in the city; I've still spent a good many hours this year guessing (to find the best catfishing spots)

good luck
    D-nymph
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 6701
    RE: New Spot 2008/08/26 17:19:36 (permalink)
    ORIGINAL: jolie

this is all too true.

But for the complete Novice there is those well known spots.  The major locks all have trails to there tailwaters.  Putting a hand-sized or bigger bluegill and you do have a chance... you'll have a much BETTER chance at some honey-hole you discover that doesn't get obnoxious fishing pressure...

but to do that you will have to read up on them, start guessing and pay your dues.  And give up the easy access Tailwater spots where everyone fishes...