Bearing Buddies

Author
Treble Hook
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 32
  • Reward points: 0
2007/04/23 20:06:38 (permalink)

Bearing Buddies

Has anyone ever changed the seals on their trailer's "Bearing Buddies"?  Had the trailer 3 yrs and have just kept them filled up with grease. This spring I seen some seeping out around the seal. Don't know how hard they are to change or if I want get into it.
   Thanks
   Treble Hook

7 Replies Related Threads

Wally Cat
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1073
    RE: Bearing Buddies 2007/04/23 20:16:54 (permalink)
    I'm not an expert on that particular subject but I've had the same bearing buddies on my trailer for ten years now without any problem. They seemed to always leak on the inside and I assumed that was normal. I just pumped it full of grease until the old warn out looking grease came out then I took a rag and wiped out all the excess old stuff and I was good for another 1000 miles at which time I goosed it again and cleaned out all the old stuff. Inside edges are very sharp be very carefull when wiping.

I've at times trailered to the South Carolina coast and had it in salt water without problems. However I may have just been lucky so try and get someone elses opinion.

Just my 2 cents worth.

Enjoy Life, Be Happy, Go Fish - Often!

"God has blessed America - may He continue to do so, even though we are not worthy of it".
    Author..... Wally Cat
    ShutUpNFish
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3834
    RE: Bearing Buddies 2007/04/23 21:14:56 (permalink)
    I used to remove mine every couple of years and re-pack the grease and change the seals on my old boat.  Since I got a newer boat, and other family priorities come ahead now...I just take it to my mechanic to get inspected and serviced.