noob at fly tying

Author
fishnabarrel
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 106
  • Reward points: 0
2008/01/15 20:48:24 (permalink)

noob at fly tying

im new at fly fishing and want to get into fly tying does anybody hav any  suggestions on wat to get or wat to tie anything is helpful

4 Replies Related Threads

saltflyfisher
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 565
    RE: noob at fly tying 2008/01/15 21:14:33 (permalink)
    If you can see if a local shop by you is having any lessons during the winter months. Normally your pay a small fee and have the tools inc to use at no cost . The fee is to cover the materials cost.

If thats not happening and you are doing this alone, then pick up a few books for beginning tying and search the internet for video's doing the same. After you've done some research your get a better idea as to the tools to tie your need.

For the flies your looking to tie ask yourself what kind of flyfishing your looking to do. Tie these associated to those species. Start simple for instance, sunfish and perch: wooly buggers and wooly worms. Both easy to start tying and use the same materials between each of them. Buy the materials needed for the flies your looking to tie. Don't buy one of these massive kits that have more parts that at the start of this hobby your never use. Check your local craft stores for some of your needs, cost less and most of the times the same product.

Remember the kiss method, don't make it difficult for yourself.
    bowmandjk
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 151
    RE: noob at fly tying 2008/01/15 21:33:31 (permalink)
    if your from erie gander mtn is where gemcity fly tiers tie on thursday nite at 7 oclock except the 2nd thursday of the month they tie at gemcity just show up the guys are more than willing to help you bring your vise

any day of fishing is a gift
    jlh42581
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1885
    RE: noob at fly tying 2008/01/16 09:11:47 (permalink)