Author
guppieguy
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Reward points: 0
2012/11/23 16:50:51 (permalink)

Tandem rig

Hello to all!  
I've just as of recently joined this site, as i can see it has a wealth of information to offer for a person like myself that is relatively new to fly fishing.  I have tried my hand at some steelhead fishing this fall, and i was thinking about utilizing tandem rigs (which i have never done before). I searched the internet with no conclusive results as to what a "standard" tandem rig is for steelhead. What have you fellas tried? is it more beneficial to have a box of pre-tied tandem rig combos, or to just switch it up on the water as you see fit?
One more stupid question- does the dropper fly get tied to the bend in the hook of the point fly, or does it get tied to the eye of the point fly? I was alittle confused about that.

any help would be greatly appreciated! thanks guys
                 -Guppie

3 Replies Related Threads

schmoe
    New Angler
    • Total Posts : 22
    Re:Tandem rig 2012/11/23 17:01:35 (permalink)
    I fish tandem flies about 75% of the time. As for what the best combos are, that's a personal preference. I normally use a large leading fly followed by a small trailing fly. Sometimes I'll have two identical flies. Other than that, I switch up until I find what works.

I tie the trailing fly to the hook bend of the lead fly wiith tippet one size lighter than my main line.
    davef
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 980
    Re:Tandem rig 2012/11/23 17:22:31 (permalink)
    Try any combination of flies you can come up with.  Also try a combo with eggs or other plastic as either the leading or trailing fly.  I also do as schmoe does and tie the trailer at the bend with a leader 2 pounds less than my main leader.