Quick Tips

Author
steely34
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 1280
  • Reward points: 0
2011/11/07 18:54:20 (permalink)

Quick Tips

Had a PM from a fellow board member just starting out in tying and he asked for some tips that may help him this winter as he learns along the way. Not everyone has the opportunity to sit down with someone who has been tying for a while and learn the things we tend to take for granted. These are just some of the things I have learned and by no means does that make them right. I'm sure there are others out there who have found better ways to do things at the bench. If anyone does have some ways of doing things that they have found has made things easier please add to this because there are many out there just starting out. I know the frustration I went through when I learned ....... and I'm still learning. So anyway these are some of the questions asked.....

Threading the bobbin....

You can start the thread in the bottom hole and suck on the other end to bring the thread up through... but sometimes if the thread is twisted - it won't come up. Or you can purchase a bobbin threader. These tools cost some $. Better yet - go to the drug store and buy a bag of floss threaders used for flossing your teeth. Keep one handy for whenever you need to re spool your bobbin. A bag of these will last a very long time and they are cheaper than the tool...

After you get the thread inserted into the opening - just pull on the other end and your bobbin is threaded.

Straightening twisted zonker strips.

Depending on how you buy the strip they may be twisted when you bring them out of the bag. To get the twist out of them - just grab the strip at each end and pull tight. Do this a few times and the twist will be removed. Once this is done - if you have the room - hang them from a shelf for future use. If not - put them in a long slender bag - if they have not come in one already. These bags can be bought at the dollar store.

Brushes