Need some advice....

Author
jhawk1973
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 14
  • Reward points: 0
2011/07/11 19:02:31 (permalink)

Need some advice....

Bought a Penn Yan 218 classic last fall. First time out with it and slightly disappointed. It takes forever to plane, only reaching 3000 rpm trying to plane, once up it gets to 3500-3600 rpm. It has a 230 hp 305 gm mercruiser with alpha 1 drive. I fit it with a 15hp 2 stroke kicker, that has added some weight to the stern, it porpouses pretty bad without trim tabs down slightly while on plane and without the trim tabs I don't think it would plane at all. it has a 14 dia 19 pitch 3 blade prop. The 305 should be at 4200 wot it gives no indication it is down on power and has good manners, that said I am considering propping down. I am curious of the 4 blade props for their ability to plane faster and cruise at slower speeds and considering a hydroplane fin. What does everyone think? I am new to boating and fishing is my main concern, speed to plane and a slow cruise for fuel consumption with maximum control is my preference. I hope I am not expecting miracles? Please let me know what you would do...Thanks for your time.

26 Replies Related Threads

pghmarty
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5951
    RE: Need some advice.... 2011/07/11 19:32:35 (permalink)
    I spent way over $10,000 trying to find the right prop for my Checkmate and ended up using a 27p lab cut 4 blade Mach Patriot prop  that cost around $1500.
    That prop was great for high speed but lacked low end power so I only used it if I wanted to run over 80mph
    My boat did not come with the original prop and the engine was heavily modified,

Even with all the added power the original stainless 3 blade 25p prop worked best all around-Don't remember if it was a Bravo or Turbo
    Find out what the original prop was and try that.

Every different prop changes the handling not just wide open rpm and planing.