Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
AndyLee
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 54
  • Reward points: 0
2011/04/05 08:48:04 (permalink)

Opening Day of trout rained out?

I have been fishing opening day up north for about 25 years, and never has there been an opening day where the water level was too high to fish.  Could this year be the first?  Right now the discharge on Oil Creek is already over 4000 cfs, and the forecast is calling for thunderstorms every day for the next 10 days leading up to the opener.  If that holds true, I can't see any way the creeks will be fishable come opening day.  Anyone else worried about this? 

34 Replies Related Threads

woodnickle
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 8511
    RE: Opening Day of trout rained out? 2011/04/05 09:08:10 (permalink)
    Ya...we sure got hammered yesterday.
    I,ll be below a dam but worried they might have the gates too opened to fish.
    May have to look around to find a fishable stream or fish the rainbow camp.lol

psu_fish
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3105
    RE: Opening Day of trout rained out? 2011/04/05 09:46:35 (permalink)
    We have 11 days, so hopefully the creeks come down. But I usually fish Justus Lake so rain doesnt really affect me.
    mohawksyd
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 854
    RE: Opening Day of trout rained out? 2011/04/05 11:57:22 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: AndyLee

Anyone else worried about this? 

Not in the least.

"For the supreme test of a fisherman is not how many fish he has caught...but what he has caught when he has caught no fish." - John H. Bradley

TastyTrout
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 732
    RE: Opening Day of trout rained out? 2011/04/05 13:37:40 (permalink)
    My fingers are crossed that everything will be ok.  Both places that I'm considering fishing are stocking it the day before so hopefully the fish will be there.
    ready2fish
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 787