Traditional

Author
Pork
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 1419
  • Reward points: 0
2011/03/29 15:16:39 (permalink)

Traditional

Hey guys, just thought I'd bring a little life to this forum....
So, who shoots traditional? Hunt or just target?

Reason I ask is, dad just gave me his old Bear Kodiak Mag. (52", 50#) & I'm just getting into it, seems like a blast. Found a really good forum for trad. info, but PA's one of the only states without its own subforum, just wondered if there's any local guys here that might offer some advice.

I'll probably just be target shooting for a good long while. Need the practice, that's for sure.
Anyone have any tips for a newbie shooting for fun?

Thanks in advance.
post edited by Pork - 2011/03/29 15:17:26

"If you ever get hit with a bucket of fish, be sure to close your eyes." ><)))*>

8 Replies Related Threads

bluntman
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 684
    RE: Traditional 2011/03/29 19:05:54 (permalink)
    I shoot and hunt with a Black Widow MA ll And a Black Widow PCH, the MA is 57 lbs and the PCH is 68 lbs, the best advice I could give is to buy some books or tapes on instinctive shooting and shoot all you can, and then shoot some more, practice makes you proficient or at least capable, you never stop learning with a stickbow
    Outdoor Adventures
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1849
    RE: Traditional 2011/03/30 07:26:56 (permalink)
    Good advise and make sure you shoot good shafts. Good luck and have fun !
    krott243
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 954
    RE: Traditional 2011/03/30 09:08:30 (permalink)
    It is fun! I shoot a 45# Bear Kodiak Hunter. Last year was the first time out in the woods with it. Missed a spooky doe at 12 yrds, hit a limb, all on video to boot. My heart was pounding harder than I can remember killing a deer with my compound. It brings a great challenge. All I can say is shoot everyday this summer. Start at 5 yrds, than 10 and so on.