Page: 123 > Showing page 1 of 3
Author
aly1184
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Reward points: 0
2010/12/05 01:14:00 (permalink)

Who Pays for the Fish?

I am new at fishing (2010 was my 2nd fishing license purchased). My boyfriend has fished since he was a small child, and he has introduced me to fishing. I began my fishing experience in Erie, fishing for steelhead. Ever since, I was hooked (no pun intended).
Here is my problem. Every year, I pay for a fishing license. I don't just buy the standard license; I opt to pay for the Erie stamp so that I can catch those enticing steelhead. Yet, the steelhead that I, and other license holders pay for, inevitabley swim through a portion of the creek that is owned by a person that forbids others from fishing his property. Is this man personally paying for those fish that are stocked and decide to hole up on his property? Does he buy a fishing license? Or does he just charge others to fish or guide his property? I know of one such example, as my boyfriend just went fishing today. He was told by a guide "You would be better off leaving because the owner will call the state troopers on you." Fine. The man owns the property, we have no right to be there. However, this man is charging a thousand (to thousands?) of dollars to fish his property. Who paid for those fish? WE ALL DID. Why should he be allowed to charge others to fish his property, when, technically, those fish are the states'? Or even better, OURS.
I understand that posted means posted. They own the land. But they don't own the fish. Why should we pay for the fish when the areas that are heavily fished are obviously going to have less fish? I guess my point is, should this man be allowed to make a large profit off fish that we all paid for, yet have no access to (even though there WAS an easement enacted last year, that has since been revoked???)?

67 Replies Related Threads

pafisher
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3000