Trolling Tips for a Newbie?

Author
robski
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 4
  • Reward points: 0
2010/08/03 10:45:09 (permalink)

Trolling Tips for a Newbie?

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to trolling for walleye.  Heck, I'm so new I have never been out!  I just started doing some trolling down in Central Ohio for saugeye this year and I haven't had a whole lot of luck.  I'm still perfecting my techniques.  I'm going to be up visiting my folks off Walnut Creek in a couple weeks so I figure I'll bring my boat up and give the big water a try. 

My current gear consists of two decent trolling rods running 10# mono.  I've got a couple of Offshore inline planer boards as well and a few plugs and harnesses.  This setup works decent in the 15' - 20' depth in these inland lakes, but I doubt it will up on Erie.  What are some good setups for the big water?  Do I want to skip the in line boards and just run lead core and straight line off the back?  Dipsy divers?  I'm open to buying a few new things (just don't tell the wife! hah!).   Thanks for the help!

-Rob

11 Replies Related Threads

Erie Mako
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 445
    RE: Trolling Tips for a Newbie? 2010/08/03 10:54:03 (permalink)

Is your boat safe for Erie? It can turn lousy on you FAST! - Last weekend we watched a "bass boat" out about 12 miles with 5 people in it...I pray they made it back in!

First thing I'd do is get rid of the 10# line!
    What do you have for reels?

On the internet, EVERYONE is entitled to their opinion!
    Fisherlady2
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2196
    RE: Trolling Tips for a Newbie? 2010/08/03 11:21:51 (permalink)
    a link you should read from a few years back
    http://forums.fishusa.com/m_5876/mpage_1/key_trolling%252Cline/tm.htm#5888
    another that may answer a few questions...
    http://forums.fishusa.com/m_100926/mpage_1/key_trolling%252Cline/tm.htm#100926
    some good advise on dipsy divers...