Author
thelabrat57
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 19
  • Reward points: 0
2007/09/04 13:54:39 (permalink)

Fishing in Pittsburgh

To all,

I am new to the Pittsburgh area, and I have no idea where all the good fishing spots are. I primarily fish for bass, catfish, and northern pike. However, I am interested in fishing for trout, but I have little experience fishing for trout. I typically fish from the bank, since I have no boat. I am interested in fishing the rivers, lakes, and ponds in the southwest PA area. Obviously, the closer to Pittsburgh the better, but I am not opposed to driving for a good day of fishing. Also does anyone know of any boat rental companies in the area? I would love to get out on the three rivers system but without a boat it may be hard to do. So having the ability to rent a boat would be great.

Thanks

9 Replies Related Threads

Porktown
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 9691
    RE: Fishing in Pittsburgh 2007/09/04 14:32:43 (permalink)
    The only boat rental place in the immediate Pgh area, is the Venture Outdoors kayak rentals right next to PNC Park.  They might be closed, since it is after Labor Day?  No power boat rentals anywhere in the burgh.  Moraine State Park, and would imagine other lakes, do have motor boat rentals, but check the dates there too.

As for places to fish, the rivers are a start, and get about 80% of my efforts.  They have been rather slow for me, but getting better.  When the water cools down, the fishing gets better.  For spots to access by shore, here are a few.

Lock 3 - Harmarville
    Lock 2 - Sharpsburg
    The Point & The North Shore trails
    Duck Hollow (Turd Hollow) - Don't fish here after a heavy rain, or most river spots.  Wait a few days to let any sewage overflow get washed away.
    South Side Riverfront Park
    Under just about any bridge, will have some sort of access, and structure
    Mouth of Saw Mill Run - West End
    Mouth of Montour Run - Coraopolis
    Emsworth Dam - Neville Island