NOOB in need of advice

Author
sprcpr
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Reward points: 0
2009/05/26 22:16:22 (permalink)

NOOB in need of advice

Ok, complete and utter noob here. I just bought a boat, 17 foot aluminum hull, 70hp plus 6hp trolling motor. I have almost zero experience. I have two young boys and was looking for something that we could do together. I've been reading some articles here and there but I'm looking for some good advice.

1. Marina and times that are not as busy so I can get some practice getting the boat into and out of the water. I'm on the east side, shades beach is super convenient, but I understand not open at the present time.

2. Resources on weather. I'm very nervous about this. Where can I look for convenient and good weather forcasts?

3. I'm thinking that the boys would love perch fishing. Where do I go? or know where to go?

4. The boat has outriggers, but I don't have a clue as to how to use them. Read one article on here, but without pictures it's hard to get the idea. Any other good resources?

10 Replies Related Threads

freshwaterdrumR
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 603
    RE: NOOB in need of advice 2009/05/26 22:31:51 (permalink)
    1. Lampe marina or north east are both nice marinas and usually are not too busy. Walnut creek can be a mad house between 6-8am.
    2. On the weather and waves section of the main site there are links to near shore and off shore forecasts, also wunderground.com has a marine forecast. Everyone knows how wrong these forecasts can be. Just dont head out if they are calling for the lake to get nasty later in the day because it can and will happen a lot sooner. I run a 20 foot aluminum boat and find 1-3's to be fishable but a little bumpy, and 1-2 foot chop to be ideal. The most important thing is to have all the proper safety equipment on board, and to come in if the waves are getting a little "too rough".