Fly line management

Author
chartist
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 925
  • Reward points: 0
2008/10/26 10:49:52 (permalink)

Fly line management

I am new to Steelhead fly fishing.  The problem I am having is when I get a hookup, I invariably have a lot of fly line at my feet from casting.  I stuggle with keeping tension on the fish while getting rid of the slack.  I've tried squeezing the line against the rod, but I guess I've done this too hard as the fish breaks off every time.

9 Replies Related Threads

Oilcreektrouter
    New Angler
    • Total Posts : 15
    RE: Fly line management 2008/10/26 11:15:22 (permalink)