Motor Questions....need help quick!!!

Author
Jgut07
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 141
  • Reward points: 0
2008/04/09 16:46:24 (permalink)

Motor Questions....need help quick!!!

I'm about to buy a boat from a guy. I havent been able to get down to start the motor yet because of class and whatever. He said the motor ran great 2 years ago and he put stabilizer in it and hasnt ran it in 2 years. It has been in a garage for 2 years and sat outside for like one month. I was wondering if you guys think I'll face any serious problems. He said it might just be rough starting up but should run great still. I'm a newbie to boats and dont know that much. Its a mid to late 80's Mercury 35hp. Thanks for all the help.

28 Replies Related Threads

meatball1977
    Novice Angler
    • Total Posts : 97
    RE: Motor Questions....need help quick!!! 2008/04/09 17:05:32 (permalink)
    I bought a boat last year that sat for three years,had trouble at first but i got the carbs.cleaned out by a mercury dealer,runs like a dream.Drain all fluids and start from scratch.Good luck
    Jgut07
    Avid Angler
    RE: Motor Questions....need help quick!!! 2008/04/09 17:13:35 (permalink)
    how much does that cost....could i add some carb cleaner in the gas or is that not good?
    ShutUpNFish
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3834
    RE: Motor Questions....need help quick!!! 2008/04/09 17:18:06 (permalink)
    Before you buy anything, I would definitely go test it out and make sure what you're paying for is worth it.  Don't just take a stranger's word for it...don't forget, he is trying to sell his boat.  I would at least put fresh gas in it and go there with a set of ear muffs and try to run it and check the hull and look it over real good.  Just my opinion.  Good Luck!

pghmarty
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5951
    RE: Motor Questions....need help quick!!! 2008/04/09 17:26:50 (permalink)
    carb cleaner in the gas may ruin the seals or the fuel pump
    Jgut07
    Avid Angler