Fly Fishing or not

Author
matthoops33
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 134
  • Reward points: 0
2008/04/06 20:10:27 (permalink)

Fly Fishing or not

Looking for a new hobby, maybe fly fishing. However I do not know if it is worth all the work because I have never tried it before. What are the advantages of fly fishing vs other types of fishing? Is it really worth getting in to? Also, what are some good books or tapes to educate an amateur like me?

"It's a Sicillian message. It means Luca Brasi sleeps with the fishes..."

11 Replies Related Threads

PeteM
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 539
    RE: Fly Fishing or not 2008/04/06 22:18:53 (permalink)
    I can't realy compare and contrast because I never realy fished with bait or lures, but I can say that I realy like fly fishing. It's a lot of fun to read the stream and try to figure out where a fish is holding, tie on a pattern and let a nice cast roll out and drift through.

I get a big kick out of seeing a rainbow roll out and hit a nymph, then you get the jolt. Or when a brown strikes your streamer, a split second of apprehension to set the hook, then bam! it's on!

I'd say it is worth it, but that is a subjective statement. I got my first set up as a gift, and another rig at a great discount through a friend. With cost as a factor, I'd say the the value of the fun I have far outweighs cost. I can't recomend any books because I haven't read any yet, but would highly recomend hooking up with someone local who can show you how to cast and how to find where they hold. Actually seeing a seam form and trout feeding in a lane or their other holdong environments is the best.

It's not much work though, except some casting practice and streamside hiking to find likely holding areas. When you learn as you do it, the time and effort go by like a nice day of fishing.

tippy-toe
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 4334
    RE: Fly Fishing or not 2008/04/06 22:35:50 (permalink)