Help Needed: fly lines

Author
Sunset_Slayer
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 25
  • Reward points: 0
2008/02/14 12:23:43 (permalink)

Help Needed: fly lines

So im new to the flying fishing game i think i found the reel i will buy the STH Cr pop 6/7/8 wt.. and now im lookin into lines from what i understand i need to get 20lb backing and then flyline.. thats where im stumped what will be my best all around line for steelhead and maybe some bass action?
all i See is DT INT WF ST  SInking floating ...help wil be appreciated

6 Replies Related Threads

Esox_Hunter
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2393
    RE: Help Needed: fly lines 2008/02/14 12:51:01 (permalink)
    For deciding on what weight line to use, depends on the rod.  Most of the time you will want to stick with whatever the rod manufacturer rates the rod at.

20lb or 30lb dacron will both work fine for backing, if your looking to increase the capacity of backing try using the new gel-spun backings, they have a smaller diameter vs strength.

Sinking line is not neccessary for steelheading in PA or NY.  For steelhead a wf(weight forward) or dt(double taper) will work fine.  DT's are well suited for roll casting and indicator fishing, both of which you will use pretty regularly. A wf line is a little more versatille, they are better for actual casting, which will be helpful for bass fishing or if you decide you want to fish dries.

A good all around line is Mastery GPX
    Rio makes some nymph lines that work very well for steelheading

SilverKype
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3842
    RE: Help Needed: fly lines 2008/02/14 13:08:37 (permalink)