Boat Trailer Wheel Bearings Inspection

Author
Little35
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 235
  • Reward points: 0
2008/01/29 13:40:23 (permalink)

Boat Trailer Wheel Bearings Inspection

This will be the third year for my boat trailer. I have been inspecting and repacking the wheel bearings every year. This requires removing and replacing the seal. Does anybody just do this every other year? Anybody just pull the hub and take a look and then reinstall the hub without removing the seal? I don't put my boat in a slip for the season, I trailer it everywhere.
Thank you for your time.

20 Replies Related Threads

mikeg
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2533
    RE: Boat Trailer Wheel Bearings Inspection 2008/01/29 13:52:36 (permalink)
    Install a set of Bearing Buddies and just squirt a shot of greese in them twice a year. I've been doing this for about 10 years now and have never had a problem.

For my fishing reports, product reviews, stories, and other nonsense...
    http://bassjunky76.blogspot.com/
    Carpet Bagger
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1834
    RE: Boat Trailer Wheel Bearings Inspection 2008/01/29 15:25:27 (permalink)
    if your trailer carries over 3500lbs you have to do alot more each year than check the bearings....bearing buddies are an answer...u gota watch though if you are taking them off every year...you can ruin the seats and lose them...i lost 2 last year..lol

CB
    I never thought I'd say this, but I love my Sport-Craft!
    Little35
    Avid Angler
    RE: Boat Trailer Wheel Bearings Inspection 2008/01/29 16:12:40 (permalink)