RIVER MONSTERS wants to hear your stories!

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
BorgCollective
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 186
  • Reward points: 0
Re:RIVER MONSTERS wants to hear your stories! 2013/09/05 06:01:51 (permalink)
slabdaddy

Mahoning is close to 100ft deep and I know there are some big fish in there.

We must be missing something, never seen anything even close to 100' there...

Yes, we are still here!
slabdaddy
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 1780
Re:RIVER MONSTERS wants to hear your stories! 2013/09/05 10:19:10 (permalink)
Borg, I live about 12 miles from Mahoning Dam. I've been fishing it for nearly 30 years. If you've never seen 80', you've never fished close to the dam. Where the ties are (a string of RR ties that rope off dangerous waters close to the dam) it is over 90ft during summer pool. During the spring and fall, they drop the levels to winter pool which is 22ft below normal summer pool. Most people don't fish in those deep waters. Mostly people fish upstream or they fish the edges. That's probably why you've never seen those depths.

“If you're in trouble, or hurt or in need - go to the poor people. They're the only ones that'll help - the only ones.”
John Steinbeck, The Grapes of Wrath
Fish5000
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 694
Re:RIVER MONSTERS wants to hear your stories! 2013/09/05 16:02:37 (permalink)