Trolling gear?

Author
greenhead55
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 290
  • Reward points: 0
2012/02/20 10:37:45 (permalink)

Trolling gear?

I am new to trolling and need some help. We will be rigging a Ranger multi species boat for Erie and Pymatuning. How many rods for this style boat? 6? Should we get the Poor Richards ones they run for $70 or the Cabela's trolling combo's? What lengths? We plan on using inline boards. Which brand/size is recommended? Is leadcore a must or overrated? Im sure I will come up with more questions but this is a start. Thanks guys!

7 Replies Related Threads

Erie Mako
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 445
    RE: Trolling gear? 2012/02/20 10:58:23 (permalink)
    The ones at Poor Richard's are good for "start up" equipment. We've used them and had good luck with them.
    Look at the combo's that Fish USA offers also...good equipment and really good customer service if you have a problem with it. That's where we've been doing our shopping lately, because of the customer relations.

Spool them with 20 or 30 pound Power-Pro and Fluro leader and you should be good to go.
    7' rod work good, but sometimes if you are kind of cramped for room go with the 6' rods.

Leadcore isn't "over-rated" but it has it's time and place in trolling and isn't always the answer to catching fish! There is sometimes a "learning curve" to when and where to use it.

As to the number of rods, this year starts the 3 per angler rules, BUT...sometimes more rods can mean more tangles when just learning how to troll!
    Start with how many you feel comfortable dealing with until you get some time on the water and see how things behave for you.

I'm by no means an expert, just speaking from what I've "learned by doing" on the water!

HTH

On the internet, EVERYONE is entitled to their opinion!
    eyedreamn
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 368
    RE: Trolling gear? 2012/02/20 12:57:26 (permalink)
    Greenhead,

I sent you a p.m.
    Lovgren69