practice regimen

Author
bluntman
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 684
  • Reward points: 0
2011/08/12 20:42:46 (permalink)

practice regimen

Was wondering how much shooting other archers do before season starts. Ive been shooting 500-700 arrows a week for the last 3 months, this is more than usual, but Im trying to work into a 71 lb recurve. Ill probably hunt with a 57 lb string twanger this year. My normal routine consists of about 50 arrows a day year round. I shoot barebow and this larger number of arrows has sure helped my grouping, about 3-4 inch 5 arrow groups at 35 yards and touching arrows out to about 25. I know this isnt all that impressive for good wheelbow shooters but im shickled tittless to see how much difference all the extra practice makes

7 Replies Related Threads

SilverKype
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3842
    RE: practice regimen 2011/08/15 14:58:03 (permalink)
    Lucky if I shoot 50 in two weeks. Flung some broadheads about week and half ago. Haven't shot since.

My reports and advice are for everyone to enjoy, not just the paying customers.
    Outdoor Adventures
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1849
    RE: practice regimen 2011/08/15 16:27:19 (permalink)
    I try and shoot often. Some days I'll shoot through paper just to see how consistent I can shoot after multiple shots. Also rainy days I like a shoot a few in the basement. I can only shoot 20 yards in it but it helps in keeping in practice.Hope to get a practice stand set up this week and start to practicing "threading the needle" with some tough challenging shots through the woods. Probably destroy a few shafts but it's the price you pay to be prepared, sharpen your skills, and build your confidence.
    bronzeback2
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 135
    RE: practice regimen 2011/08/16 14:41:51 (permalink)