Getting Started

Author
bar2
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 37
  • Reward points: 0
2011/05/09 20:26:24 (permalink)

Getting Started

So I have recently purchased my first boat and I now need to get it rigged for Erie. I have some questions on what all I need. What is a good combo for trolling rods and reels, also size of rods and action? What line does everyone recommend? When trolling with planar boards should all the rods be the same length or staggered sizes? Which rod holders do you prefer? Also should they all be the same size or some placed higher than others to avoid tangling? What type of electronics do you recommend? I know this is many questions but I am just starting out and need some direction.

13 Replies Related Threads

kingnuke32
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1863
    RE: Getting Started 2011/05/09 20:45:15 (permalink)
    What is your budget it helps to know and what species do you plan on targeting? Do you plan on just fishing the Erie PA area or other areas as well. These will help us give you the best recommendations.
    bar2
    New Angler
    RE: Getting Started 2011/05/09 21:06:37 (permalink)
    I dont want to go crazy and spend a ton of money but also want reliable gear I'm ok with getting better equipment a little at a time. I will predominately be fishing Erie PA for walleye but would also like to target steelies. For right now however looking to rig for walleye.
    Bogeyjoker
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1704
    RE: Getting Started 2011/05/09 22:24:10 (permalink)
    Ok...how is your boat currently rigged? Does it have a planer mast or are you planning on running inline boards? You can get started and cover a lot of bases relatively cheaply by running dipseys and inline boards if you don't have a mast. You can even use the same trolling rods/line for both, although you may have to swap out your releases for braid depending on what inlines you're using.