musky trolling

Author
fish whisper
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 529
  • Reward points: 0
2011/02/02 16:27:08 (permalink)

musky trolling

figured I would start a new thread to make time fly till I can get the Lund out. Any of you guys troll prequel bay and lake erie for muskies around this area? I've been doing for 3 years now only a few dozen times. It seems like they aren't trophies when I do get one but its just fun trolling large cranks and seeing a heavy rod look like a hanging twig off the end of the boat. I've tried burning bucktails and other large casting baits but I've only caught 2 that way, however I have caught small ones while fihsing for other species usually when I'm burning my bait to make another cast. I also try bait fishing with small gills but only catch pike with them. Its something I like to do on a cloudy fall day when theres no room on the creeks and the lake is bit too choppy for going after eyes. Just wondering if I was the only one.

6 Replies Related Threads

avidangler
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 835
    RE: musky trolling 2011/02/06 10:33:01 (permalink)
    WHile its something i've never done, i plan to in the next few years.

Born to fish, Forced to work...

"Balls deep, or why even bother"
    fish whisper
    Expert Angler
    RE: musky trolling 2011/02/07 21:59:19 (permalink)
    Its great to do, especially because there is very little pressure here in Erie the population is able to sustain itself
    ShutUpNFish
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3834
    RE: musky trolling 2011/02/08 08:31:01 (permalink)
    I'd seriously rather spend my time in higher percentage areas when it comes to muskies, to tell you the truth. Although, I have thought about it in the past, Presque Isle isn't a top choice for me. Not only is my time limited, its way to hard to come by anymore with 3 kids....I wish I could do some experimentation there, but would rather fish places that I know have increased odds.