trout flies

Author
dewey123
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 210
  • Reward points: 0
2010/04/20 19:04:40 (permalink)

trout flies

I just tried out my new fly rod... im trying to get back into fly fishing again. I used to use it for blue gill and sunnies but never trout. What are you guys using to catch stock trout? I tried egg patterns, wooly bugger, green weenie and a green worm thing. I hooked up on a rainbow about 20-24 inches long and a little brook trout both on the egg pattern but most of the day i watched my flies float past fish without a bite or a glance. sometimes they would swim over and check it out maybe a little nibble but nothing. The whole time i wasnt catching anything people are tearing the fish up next to me. What am i doing wrong? Any help would be appreciated.

27 Replies Related Threads

bingsbaits
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 5026
    RE: trout flies 2010/04/20 19:40:30 (permalink)
    I'm just a newb too so don't take this as gospel.

I have had good luck with nymphs..
    Gold Ribbed Hare's Ear, Black and Brown Stone Fly Nymphs bounced on the bottom..

"There is a pleasure in Angling that no one knows but the Angler himself". WB

dietz31684
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 462
    RE: trout flies 2010/04/20 20:28:53 (permalink)
    I feel your pain.   I would suggest it has more to do with your drift and overall presentation than the exact fly.  That is from my limited experience at least.  I am fairly new to FFing also, slowing down while on the stream and watching others who are more experienced has help me a lot.

I agree with bings for flies.  I have had my best luck with hares ears, stone flies, and olive egg-sucking leeches.

Dont let bings fool you...he might be a beginner but he catches a lot of fish  
    dewey123
    Avid Angler
    RE: trout flies 2010/04/20 20:40:29 (permalink)