DOWNRIGGING FOR SALMON IN LATE AUGUST

Author
Steely Hunter
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points: 0
2007/07/28 19:03:40 (permalink)

DOWNRIGGING FOR SALMON IN LATE AUGUST

HEY, I have a boat and am entering the loc tournament on Ontario for the second time. I was wondering in the fall derby (Late august) where the king salmon are as far as depth goes? I know it varies but I was wondering wether to run downriggers or planer boards??? I am planning on Running my Downriggers at about 25 feet, Is this out of their depth??? are they deeper or all over at that time?? Any help would be greatly appreciated! I know i have caught kings off the pier in 15 feet of water in early september. But i am new to down riggin and boat fishin for salmon.
THANK YOU
RICk

2 Replies Related Threads

creel
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 384
    RE: DOWNRIGGING FOR SALMON IN LATE AUGUST 2007/07/28 21:13:14 (permalink)
    Hunter go to a site called www.attheoak.com, great site, they give fishing reports from Oak Orchard.  The Captains give you on the information you are looking for.  Good Luck, John

thats a good fish, they are all good, some are gooder than others
    bluntman
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 684
    RE: DOWNRIGGING FOR SALMON IN LATE AUGUST 2007/07/29 17:33:15 (permalink)
    ORIGINAL: Steely Hunter

HEY, I have a boat and am entering the loc tournament on Ontario for the second time. I was wondering in the fall derby (Late august) where the king salmon are as far as depth goes? I know it varies but I was wondering wether to run downriggers or planer boards??? I am planning on Running my Downriggers at about 25 feet, Is this out of their depth??? are they deeper or all over at that time?? Any help would be greatly appreciated! I know i have caught kings off the pier in 15 feet of water in early september. But i am new to down riggin and boat fishin for salmon.
    THANK YOU
    RICk