Size Of Fish This Year!

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
bluehalo
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 97
  • Reward points: 0
RE: Size Of Fish This Year! 2008/11/14 17:20:58 (permalink)
I see very little as well. I saw two last weekend and both were from a couple of fellers culling their stringer at walnut.
Where I live, all the best fishing for larger trout are on c-n-r regs waters whether its a stocked Clarks creek, or a fingerling stocked Little Juniata or a non stocked Letort. A classic example is Big Fishing creek trophy trout section. FULL of trout, but try and catch one over the 14" size limit. I am no expert on the tribs but have to wonder how it could be so different. Its not like they die off like salmon.
But I wonder about alot of things, and some surely die off from stress.
Is that red thing in your icon actually a steelhead eggsac?
MikeThePike
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 64
RE: Size Of Fish This Year! 2008/11/14 19:27:20 (permalink)
ORIGINAL: egg sac

ORIGINAL: MikeThePike

I'm simply saying due to the stress very few fish do return a second or third time to spawn. Even if handled perfectly, the fight and then stresses of spawning on many fish will kill them. I've seen plenty of dead steelies and browns on some of the smaller NY tribs that see almost no fishing pressure. They just can't take the stress associated with running very small creeks and then spawning.

The tribs are just too small to let the fish spawn without having additional stress which for the most part seems to kill many of them. I see 1000s of fish C&R'ed every year but do we see 1000s of much bigger fish returning the next year? Just because the fish was released don't nessesarily mean the fish will survive to run again the next year. Yes, there is the possibility they will, but theres also the possibility the fish will die a day later, week later, month later, ect from the stress.