Griffin Spider Vise

Author
Cold
Pro Angler
  • Total Posts : 7358
  • Reward points: 0
2008/09/05 10:22:09 (permalink)

Griffin Spider Vise

...also known as the Spider Oddesy Vise?

I've been browsing fly-tying equipment, and  it looks like most of the tools are actually fairly reasonably priced, as well as the materials (except some of that hackle that gets a bit pricey...).  The vise however, seems to be the biggest wallet-excavator.  Since I'm brand new at this, I want an inexpensive vise, but one that wont frustrate me away from the hobby by not performing adequately.

I've seen this Griffin Spider Vise advertised in several online locales, as well as a Griffin Oddesy Spider vise.  Are these the same thing?  Also, FishUSA sells a Griffin 2A (I'm not hellbent on getting a Griffin, but they seem to be the only big-name manufacturer with equipment in my price range)...anyone own any of these, or have past experience with them?  Are they any good?

I've read several descriptions and reviews of these, and read up on relevant posts in the forum over the past several months, but I wanted to see what you guys had to say about these.

16 Replies Related Threads

D-nymph
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 6701
    RE: Griffin Spider Vise 2008/09/05 10:27:18 (permalink)
    I've had a Griffin Patriot Vise for 7 years.  It's done me well, but the jaws are getting all chipped up after 7 years and several thousand ties.  7 years is an acceptable term of use for me though, I'm ready for an upgrade.

I'm not familiar with the models you've mentioned though.
    D-nymph
    Pro Angler
    RE: Griffin Spider Vise 2008/09/05 11:00:36 (permalink)