Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
eyeassassin
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 847
  • Reward points: 0
2011/03/15 21:23:02 (permalink)

thinking about trying fly rod

Okay so i am usually a eye guy but i make a few trips up for the steelies and i would like to try using a fly rod instead of the spinning rod. Only thing is i know nothing about fly rods or bait so i am reaching out to you fly guys for some help. What is a good rod that isnt going to break the bank and any other tips or pointers you can give would be great.
it seems that it may just be more fun to catch them on the fly rod that is why i want to try something different

REMEMBER HOW MUCH FUN YOUR FIRST BIG ONE WAS. TAKE A KID FISHING

45 Replies Related Threads

Extreme Shallow
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 239
    RE: thinking about trying fly rod 2011/03/15 21:46:37 (permalink)
    Hey Eyes,

I'm just getting started into fly fishing for steelies and on the Yough. I'm starting from scratch but have a few great guys going to show me the way. You can't be that far from me (Elizabeth Township) so we might get together and have a few laughs at each other.....

Skip16503 is hooking me up with a couple of rods (one for steelies). Once I have them the learning will begain!
    pafisher
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3000
    RE: thinking about trying fly rod 2011/03/15 23:11:03 (permalink)
    I think there is a Cabela's down your way,I'm from SE Pa.,try their fly shop,if they are like the Hamburg store they could help setting you up.
    BloodyHand
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2133
    RE: thinking about trying fly rod 2011/03/16 06:44:25 (permalink)
    Here's a heads up, regardless what these fly experts tell you. I been tryin fly fishin for almost 2 years now. I got 19 hook-ups and nothin landed. I was told you will need 30 before you can land 1. Only 11 to go! Here's a tip, practice, practice, practice.
    KJH807
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 4863