What flies? When?

Author
xXBeastFeesherManXx
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 86
  • Reward points: 0
2011/12/19 11:42:49 (permalink)

What flies? When?

I have been searching and cannot find adequate information. Can anyone help explain what flies perform best in the different seasons for steelhead? Also, any suggestions on where to find fly usage info for bass in the spring, summer & fall? Thank you.

15 Replies Related Threads

fisherofmen376
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2217
    RE: What flies? When? 2011/12/19 13:43:30 (permalink)
    i am not an expert, but i have honestly not seen much of a difference in catching steelbows in Erie whatever the season. egg patterns, streamers, a few nymphs work for me anytime of the year. when the water gets muddier, real egg sacs do the trick.

"Come, follow me," Jesus said, "and I will make you fishers of men."
    Matthew 4:19
    papinner
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1083
    RE: What flies? When? 2011/12/19 14:32:18 (permalink)
    Forget the pattern confidence is all you need. Presentation is more important then what your putting in front of them to eat. Thats my take as a non fly fisherman.
    swinger
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1376
    RE: What flies? When? 2011/12/19 20:19:32 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: papinner

Forget the pattern confidence is all you need. Presentation is more important then what your putting in front of them to eat. Thats my take as a non fly fisherman.

agree

Quality over quantity

I am reality

I>U

JC Rules!!!!!!!
    fisherofmen376
    Pro Angler
    RE: What flies? When? 2011/12/19 22:44:25 (permalink)
    Well all the "confidence" in the world won't make a fish bite the wrong offering, but I get the point. Fish do some strange things and once in awhile they will bite even a bare hook. But I do believe there are certain things that work better than others.

pwk5017
    Novice Angler
    • Total Posts : 72
    RE: What flies? When? 2011/12/20 22:45:11 (permalink)