Steelhead rigs

Author
nEwBe1
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 118
  • Reward points: 0
2007/09/26 11:56:02 (permalink)

Steelhead rigs

What is the best way to fish the mouth of the creeks for steelhead. Never fished for them and looking for any help. Not sure how to even set up a rig with a Leader attached. Do u know if Poor Richards would set up my pole for steelhead fishing if I bought everything I need from them? I am a beginner fisher so any information would definitly be helpful. Basically, how should I set up my pole for fishing the mouth of walnut and in the streams once the steelies are here?

9 Replies Related Threads

nEwBe1
    Avid Angler
    RE: Steelhead rigs 2007/09/26 11:59:07 (permalink)
    oh yea...I am using a basic spinner rod with factory 6lb line. Is that good or bad?
    Storm Warning 2
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 583
    RE: Steelhead rigs 2007/09/26 12:06:11 (permalink)
    You may want to upgrade that rod to a 9' or so noodle.  Factory 6# can be alright, but I would invest in some fluorocarbon for leader material.

nEwBe1
    Avid Angler
    RE: Steelhead rigs 2007/09/26 12:36:02 (permalink)
    Is a noodle rod different then a regular $20 rod from wal-mart?

Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2852
    RE: Steelhead rigs 2007/09/26 12:43:03 (permalink)
    Hey Newbe -

Welcome to the boards.  I'm kinda new to steelhead fishing myself, this will be my 5th season, but I feel like I've learned enough over the past few years to be kind of successful and maybe help you out. 

Be warned though, the learning curve can be kind of steep.  Be prepared your first several trips - if you're not with an experienced steelhead fisherman - to not catch too much.  Last November, I finally got comfortable with what I was doing and did pretty well in Erie.  Before last fall, I'd be extremely excited to just hook up with one or two fish per trip. 

Anway, here's what I've found to be helpful: