2015/12/29 20:00:02
Jlearn
I am new to fly fishing and have caught a few steelhead on my 5wt rod. I would like to set up a 10' 7wt rod for steelhead. I would appreciate any suggestions as to what reel for these strong fast running fish.
2015/12/30 07:10:51
FishinGuy
Lamson is always a good bet. Read lots of online reviews. Machined aluminum is going to be typically lighter and more durable than cast aluminum. I have a couple lamsons myself so I may be a bit biased, but they seem to generally have a great reputation.
2015/12/31 22:08:04
hendey lathe
Ditto on the Lamson reel. I've been using a Lamson Radius 2.0 for the past 12 or so years and I'm very satisfied with it. The Radius 2.0 is not available anymore but the Lamson Guru is the closest to it. It's about $200.00 retail but this is the time of year to watch for sales. Check out www.mrfc.com , I think they have the Lamson Guru HD (in 6 weight ) on sale for about $160.00 . I've never fished for steelhead but I've handle some big trout (24" plus) on the Yough and the Lamson drag system is very nice. It may sound pricey, but I'll guarantee you'll only have it for a lifetime. Hope this helps and I wish you and everyone on the board a happy and healthy new year. Let us know how it works out.
P.S.
       Look under MRFCs' clearance section of their site. Good Luck, Matt.
2016/01/01 06:23:03
FishinGuy
http://www.fishusa.com/product/Waterworks-Lamson-Guru-II-Fly-Reels the guru is discontinued. It's been replaced by the guru II. The spare spools are not interchangeable. so if you plan on buying a reel now and possibly a spare spool later, get the new model as I went through this same thing with their last discontinued reel, the konic II. I was unable to find a spate spool when I wanted one. Still a great reel though.
2016/10/31 15:43:12
RisenFly