2016/10/25 10:38:09
smally hunter
Reading the pymie pages about weed
growth and how they are still grown ECT .. would that in turn mean a better chance for livelier weeds when ice finally hits our lakes ? I inquire because the first year I ice fished heavily 2010-11 on conneaut lake near the fish commission launch on the north end there was lush green vegatation .. where as the other two years I fished there 2013-14 and 14-15 the weeds were very dead.. I could research these things but slot
of you guys that frequent this section of the site seem to be quite knowledgeable as to these things .. meanwhile at 24 I feel as though I'm just beginning to learn
2016/10/25 16:30:32
CRAPPIE_SLAYER
To go along with the comment old dog made about the snow cover, maybe the ice thickness has some effect as well. If I remember right, the 2 years you're saying they were brown we had harsh winters with alot of ice. Not sure, just a thought. Regardless, I hope we have a winter with lots of ice. Last year was a bummer for the most part.
2016/10/25 20:12:26
smally hunter
All makes sense .. I'm just chomping at the bit without a boat ice provides me with some of the best chances to get em .. I got some steep goals for Conny if the ice comes and the weeds sure do assist in that
2016/10/25 21:33:46
treesparrow
smally hunter, What a great question. I can go along with old dog & crappy Slayer with their theory as the weather those years was quite different. This is a real think question. And weeds that are green would if still functioning give off oxygen which would play into fish patterns. What a good subject.
  We need a savvy fresh water Limnologist.
2016/10/25 22:00:06
BeenThereDoneThat.
Well here's a subject that catches my interest and anyone who has read my rants and ravings regarding  weeds in our area lakes, know how I feel about the Psu Fish and Boat Commission and their "stupid" weed program.