2018/12/09 19:31:46
fallschirmjaeger
I suck at walleye fishing.  Even worse, I am a terrible winter fisherman.  However, I would love to put those boring winter months to good use.  I know there are some exceptional walleye fishermen on this forum.  Please share some information on how to catch winter Walleye here in Western PA.  Jigging, baits, structure/locations in creeks, etc.  Rod length/weight/type, line type/weight, weight types/amounts, etc?  Anyone have any good French Creek walleye tips for near Frankin?  Any input or strategies would be great.  Can we start with winter walleye square one basics and go from there?  No detail is too basic... Thanks guys for any help... This forum has been great.
2018/12/12 20:18:25
fallschirmjaeger
Nothing?  Doe anyone have any tips?
2018/12/12 21:05:25
Porktown
I am probably worse at catching winter eyes. Summer, Spring and Fall I am not very good at either. That said, I have caught an okay amount and have caught many from tips on these forums over the years. One thing about walleye for inland waters, people are a bit tight lipped compared to other species. Use the search function and I would bet that you will find a lot of techniques guys use. Whether they will work for you, who knows. I say that, as I have used, to my best ability and nothing.
Someone that knows what they are doing, changes something minor that I am doing wrong likely limits out standing next to me! Best bet is to try to gather as much as you can and keep trying. God is good, he’ll throw you a bone every so often to help figure things out!
From what I know about winter, many are deep, where water is more in the temps they like. Also where the bait is more comfortable. Or, where the bait is dying and easy pickings. I have tried it a bunch of times and nothing for my efforts. I don’t mind trying to put time in and figure out when not freezing my rear off. But winter fishing, has to have some sort of catching or just not worth it for me.
2018/12/12 21:49:41