Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
wallyeye
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 34
  • Reward points: 0
2008/05/05 12:40:42 (permalink)

Clover food plots

Hey guys just getting ready to put in the food plots for the spring.. im kinda undecided on what to put in? I planted corn last year and it did real well.. But the deer never came out to the corn feild till after dark.. will a clover feild produce more deer trafic than a corn feild?? Im sure it depends on what time of the year the deer will go to different food sources just would like to hear your opinins on what you guys plant?

46 Replies Related Threads

Stealth Archer
    New Angler
    • Total Posts : 21
    RE: Clover food plots 2008/05/05 13:00:15 (permalink)
    I would recommend planting the clover as opposed to corn. Also maybe throw in some soygum, sugarbeets, and turnips. This is what I have been planting for the past 5 years and it has proven to work very well. You can also supplement your corn by using feeder(s). It's a good way to get an indication of what you have in the area using trail cams. With the mix I plant every year the deer seem to come into the plots about the same time every day. Usually from 2pm to dark is when I observe the most traffic. I'm not sure how much the location would have to do with the timing. My food plots are pretty deep in the woods built in clearings that we had created for the purpose. That's just my opinion.
    MuskyMastr
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3032
    RE: Clover food plots 2008/05/05 13:31:37 (permalink)
    The clovers are good just check the production.  Some produce little for the first year but then come on strong in the second year and for years after that.  Some are extremely strong the first year and not so good after that.  It is good to mix the two to produce a nice plot.  Stealth had a good suggestion on the turnips as well.  Any brassicas will stay long into the winter and feed well into february.