weights?

Author
fishON4Me
Avid Angler
  • Total Posts : 142
  • Reward points: 0
2008/03/27 17:35:33 (permalink)

weights?

I have a good question (I think) relating to sinkers when I am using a jig or spoon. Last year, I tried to fish with a small spoon in a local marina. I was using a 6' rod. I tied the spoon on, with no sinkers, and it did not cast out more then 5 feet. Since I am going to try using jigs and spoons again this weekend, do I use a sinker with spoons and jigs in order to cast out far? I will be using a 10ft noodle rod with mccoy 6lb test. By using a sinker with a spoon or jig, doesn't that mess up the way it is suppose to work? Please help me with this problem because I am totally new to jigs and spoons. I normally use live bait. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

3 Replies Related Threads

Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2852
    RE: weights? 2008/03/27 17:42:19 (permalink)
    with your 10' foot rod & 6 lb. mccoy, you should have no problem casting jigs and spoons.  if you had heavier line with your 6' rod, say even 8 or 10 lb., that would be one of your main problems right there.

even with your new set up, you're not going to be able to cast a jig across the marina, but if you go with a little bigger float above your jig, you should be able to get some good distance.  with that set up, with even the smaller spoons you should be able to get some pretty good distance.

if you're fishing jigs in the streams in normal flow, one or two of the smallest split shots you can find about a foot to 18" above the jig should be the ticket.  anything more, and you wont get a natural looking drift.  don't forget, the jig heads are weighted too, so they don't require a lot of additional weight.  in fact, if the flows are on the low, slow side, i'd avoid the weight all together. 

the key is to experiment till you get your bait in the strike zone and find what the fish like. 
    ShutUpNFish
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3834