Page: 123 > Showing page 1 of 3
Author
mgolf92
Expert Angler
  • Total Posts : 378
  • Reward points: 0
2008/03/16 10:07:56 (permalink)

Spring Steelhead Tactics

I was out yesterday on Upper Elk, but did not catch any fish.  Typically where do spring steelhead lie?  What are some general techniques for fishing in the spring?  Fly fishing, that is.  I am fairly new at the game, so I'm just trying to get going in the right direction.  Thanks.

Mike

71 Replies Related Threads

ShutUpNFish
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3834
    RE: Spring Steelhead Tactics 2008/03/16 11:52:11 (permalink)
    Yesterday was a tough day anywhere.  The water was roaring pretty good and visability was low.  I did manage to get 2 and lose about 10 and my buddy got 4 or 5....we tried 3 or 4 different spots.  The fresh ones are in, its just a matter of time until the water is perfect again...probably right now and tomorrow.  The week is looking up.  Keep trying and be persistant, it will come to you.

krott243
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 954
    RE: Spring Steelhead Tactics 2008/03/16 13:25:30 (permalink)
    Egg patterns in various colors are a must, I carry 12's-20's in every color.  A lot of hens are full of eggs and you better believe fish are going to be eating eggs.  I also think of spring time, streamer time.  Shiner patterns with flash added are always a good choice, also your different colored buggers.  One of my favorite streamers to fish is a gold and black zonker. Pretty much anything you usually carry will work.  Fish are just a little more aggressive than the winter months and the right streamer on a day can take a lot of fish.  If your fishing spawning fish on gravel or in fast water, I usually throw some types of nymphs.  Stones, hares ears, pts.  Just carry what ever you got with you and change till you find what they want.

The Lord has blessed us all today... It's just that he has been particularly good to me.
    BTJWG
    Novice Angler