Shot pattern

Author
*steelking*
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 71
  • Reward points: 0
2008/02/10 16:22:30 (permalink)

Shot pattern

Im new to the world of centerpin fishing and could really use some advice as far as shot patterns and setups go. I'm also not sure on the leader legnth coming from the barrel swivel. What do most of you guys use on lake erie's tribs? thanks
-Mike

5 Replies Related Threads

Trout About
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 1048
    RE: Shot pattern 2008/02/10 16:32:21 (permalink)
    I usually run a 4'-6' fluoro leader off my main line.  I like to bulk stack the shot 6"-12" from the bait and put a larger shot right under the float to check it up. (I'm too lazy to take the time and weight my floats)
    fishbreath
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 115
    RE: Shot pattern 2008/02/10 18:23:49 (permalink)
    Try a search on the steelhead site, quest outdoors, or floatfishing net and stand back. Your topic is rehashed on those sites fairly often, you'll get enough hits to confuse the heck out of you. After that pick one that seems reasonable and not overly complex, go out and experiment with different combinations of whatever tickles you. There's no absolutely right answer for all situations, anybody who tells you to use only one method (his) in all cases may be a fool, even if not, he's not catching as many fish as he should be. When you see somebody hammering fish, be nice, complement him on something or the other, and notice what he's doing. Most pinners will be happy to give a pointer or two.
    mxdad66
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 751
    RE: Shot pattern 2008/02/10 18:45:20 (permalink)