fly rod setup for steelhead

Author
chuckaluck
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 9
  • Reward points: 0
2014/10/03 11:23:20 (permalink)

fly rod setup for steelhead

I would like to know how to set up my fly rod for steelhead. I will be fishing 20 mile mostly. would like to know what leader and what weight and length. tippet weight and length and anything else I may need to know that I cant think of. I am new to fly fishing and want to try to learn the right way. any help would be greatly appreciated. I would also like to know if a 6 weight is heavy enough for steelhead?
post edited by chuckaluck - 2014/10/03 11:28:11

8 Replies Related Threads

zdub7
    New Angler
    • Total Posts : 46
    Re: fly rod setup for steelhead 2014/10/03 15:04:40 (permalink)
    Don't know much about fly fishing but you will want to go with 6lb test fluorocarbon if the water is a little stained but if it is clearwater then you most likely will have to use fluoro 4lb test.
    davef
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 980
    Re: fly rod setup for steelhead 2014/10/03 17:27:46 (permalink)
    I used an 8 foot long 6 weight when I fished Crooked Creek years ago and it worked fine for me.  You may be different though so try it and go from there.

I'm strictly an amateur fly fisherman but what I used was about 4 foot section of a tapered mono fly leader needle knotted to my fly line.  At the end I used a very small swivel and then would just attach 3 feet or so of whatever line I was using.  6 pound was the most common but 4 and 8 were also used.

As others have stated on other threads they are only a stupid fish, theres no need to over think it.  I always used a small indicator also unless I was stripping streamers.
    wrighter00
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 175
    Re: fly rod setup for steelhead 2014/10/09 01:26:23 (permalink)