Author
Pgh Kid
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 88
  • Reward points: 0
2008/01/14 19:38:41 (permalink)

Where to fish

Hello All,
I am new to fly fishing for steelhead and was wondering where the best place to fish this time of year might be - fast water or pools.

Any help would be great.

20 Replies Related Threads

flirod4evr
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 208
    RE: Where to fish 2008/01/14 21:09:26 (permalink)
    If your flyfishing you NEED to be in the fast riffles and runs. If you have bait then anywhere is good as long as theres a steelhead in there. If your using bait try casting extremely ahead of the target fish so your bait has time to settle into the drift. dont use much wait with this method just enough to get it into the fishes window.
    spoonchucker
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 8561
    RE: Where to fish 2008/01/14 21:14:26 (permalink)
    "If your flyfishing you NEED to be in the fast riffles and runs."

What brings you to this conclusion?

Get Informed, Get Involved, And Make A Difference.

Step Up, or Step Aside

The next time you say "Somebody should do something", remember that YOU are somebody.

GL
    Pgh Kid
    Novice Angler
    RE: Where to fish 2008/01/15 10:19:35 (permalink)
        Thanks for the responce. I am fly fishing but it has been many years since I have held a rod.
    2dog
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 468
    RE: Where to fish 2008/01/15 13:49:57 (permalink)
    spoonchucker
    Sounds like flirod4evr wants the holes to himself.

Pgh Kid
    They will be in the holes for the most part this time of year. The best advise is don't think of them as steelhead that need to be fished differently. Think of them as trout. It worked for me thinking like that.
    flirod4evr
    Avid Angler
    • Total Posts : 208
    RE: Where to fish 2008/01/15 15:32:55 (permalink)