Sinking line?

Author
Indyflier
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 14
  • Reward points: 0
2013/08/21 16:26:56 (permalink)

Sinking line?

I have only fished a floating line on the Erie tribs.  If I needed to get a streamer or egg pattern down, I just added split shot to the leader/tippet.  I only did this because that was what someone recommended to me when I first started using a fly rod.  I only get the chance to fish in Erie a couple of times a year, so I am a novice and don't have the chance to experiment much.  I curious, though, if using a sinking line is a better alternative to using split shot (or similar weights) to the leader/tippet material.  Thanks in advance.

4 Replies Related Threads

Steel Junkie
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 297
    Re:Sinking line? 2013/08/21 16:34:51 (permalink)
    No need for sinking line on Erie tribs of PA for the type of fishing you described
    Cold
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 7358
    Re:Sinking line? 2013/08/21 23:45:00 (permalink)
    What he said.

A full floating fly line is simply the right tool for the task.  Not saying you can't use a sinking line, but you're only going to be causing yourself headaches without any payoff at all.

The only place I could see it maybe working is fishing the mouths by stripping streamers, and even there, only a short sinking leader, not a sink tip or sinking line...and even in that situation, you're still probably better off with a weighted fly and a full floater.
    pikepredator2
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 953
    Re:Sinking line? 2013/08/22 08:52:35 (permalink)
    and don't forget, your fluorocarbon leader and tippet will help to get that fly down.
    bigfoot
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 2515
    Re:Sinking line? 2013/08/22 12:28:51 (permalink)