Author
Bdugg
Novice Angler
  • Total Posts : 95
  • Reward points: 0
2013/01/23 16:48:42 (permalink)

I have never fly fished before and do not have any idea what to buy. I am a complete rookie looking to a rod and reel or combo. I do not want to drop alot of cash incase i do not like it but I also do not want to buy crap. Im looking for a basic trout, maybe steelhead setup. Where do I start what do I need to catch my first trout on a fly rod? Any and all info is thanked in advance.

8 Replies Related Threads

krott243
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 954
    Re:Newbie 2013/01/24 05:28:15 (permalink)
    Id say you would get by with a 9 ft 5wt, good for medium to large trout water and will handle steel as well. If you think you will be targeting more steel and the occasional trout, a 6wt may be a better option. If you list a price range for a rod and reel we could probably give you a better idea of what to start looking at. There are some good reels in the $100 range. May want to look for something used already set up.

The Lord has blessed us all today... It's just that he has been particularly good to me.
    schmoe
    New Angler
    • Total Posts : 22
    Re:Newbie 2013/01/24 22:24:58 (permalink)
    If you're just starting out
    1. Buy cheap. You don't want to spend a fortune in the beginning. Most Rods, even cheap ones, will cast better than the person casting them.
    2.learn. It ain't that hard. Find a buddy: ask for advice.
    3. Just do it. All of the magazines, books, and forums won't help as much as actual experience on the water.
    4. learn from mistakes
    5. Admit to the clerk Iim the fly shop that you're new and need help. I always get a kick out of guys staring at a rack full of leaders and tippet and refusing help when offered.
    DarDys
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 4893
    Re:Newbie 2013/01/26 11:58:34 (permalink)