Author
echuck66
New Angler
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Reward points: 0
2012/01/03 18:16:11 (permalink)

newbie question

Hi folks,

I've been fishing with spinning and casting rods for many years and am wanting to learn to fly fish. I'm primarily interested in fly fishing the Erie tribs for steelhead, but will also likely use it to fish for bass and trout around SW PA.

I'm able to get good equipment at nice prices, and I would prefer to get something nice that will last from the start, but am really unsure of what size rod to get.

I'm thinking of getting a St. Croix 9' 5wt model, along with a decent reel to accompany it, but would like to know if this size rod is appropriate for steelhead fishing in and around Erie. What do most of the fly fishermen use on such small streams and such large fish? Is a 5wt overkill? Is a 9' rod too long?

I just ordered a couple of the Orvis fly fishing guides:
1. 'The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing: 101 Tips for the Absolute Beginner (Orvis Guides)'
2. 'The Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide'

and the LL Bean guide: 'The L.L. Bean Ultimate Book of Fly Fishing'.

I also plan to get a half-day of instruction from the folks at Neshannock Creek Fly Shop this spring.

I'm really looking forward to learning to fly fish and, when the time comes, getting my son or daughter interested too.

Any advice for a newbie is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Charlie

39 Replies Related Threads

kill3ducks1deer
    Expert Angler
    • Total Posts : 699
    RE: newbie question 2012/01/03 18:54:55 (permalink)
    From what I have read on here, most guys recommend 6 to 8 weights for Erie in 9 to 10ft. You probably would be fine using a 6 weight for trout, my friend does and he hasn't complained, although we are new so you might want some others advice also.

"Fishermen are born honest, but they get over it." Ed Zern
    doubletaper
    Pro Angler
    • Total Posts : 3977
    RE: newbie question 2012/01/03 22:30:33 (permalink)